top of page

Perhaps

All the beauty’s inspiring.

Perhaps It makes real life look cold.

At the end of the day I’m perspiring

As you garnish your drippings with gold


A million things on the uptake

To bottle, to gather, to keep,

A million ways that a hairpin can take

All your curls in miraculous sweeps


Comparison, darling, it’s deadly.

When they’ve got all their filters on lock

Skinnier, fasterer, bendier brighter,

No time for unwinding, tick-tock.


Time to tighten the waist,

And forever make haste,

And do all the dishes,

Be open yet chaste,


Keeping up with the Jones’s

Oh! What a waste -

When we could be sat thinking of

Sweet satiation


Sweet satiation - go in

Sweet satiation - one thing

Sweet satiation- hum him

Sweet satiation strung thin


I’m tired of the colours, and fixings and trappings

Sofas and side tables, candles and lacking,

The velvets and creams, the Graham’s and greens,

The farrows and balls of peculiar scenes.


The haves and have-nots, such extraordinary snots,

Some people are hungry and others have lots,


The ever-long scramble to prove what you’ve got,

How you got it and whether its flourish or blots.


Why are we all trying so hard to be seen?

To whom do we prove this interior dream?


What happened to scrappy, and cosy and warm,

What happened to shelter from consuming storms,

What happened to candles when the sun went down,

To reading a book, whilst stifling a yawn,


To puzzles and board games and chopping up tea,

When you live in the real world, not cold fantasy.


I’m tired of searching for answers in me - from a screen that addicts me to two apps or three.


My brain-span is shrinking, 'fact I barely see,

From a day on the screens, like a fizzy wee bee,


So I’m detoxing slowly and what do I find,

When I don’t have a million things on my mind?

I wonder if all of the jobs lingering there,

Will finally surface for a breath of air,


This incessant tapping, and checking and spikes,

Of adrenaline did nothing good for my "likes",

There’s stillness in me if I give it some space,

To develop and grow into something more safe,


So wish me good luck on this journey of mine,

I’ll know if the breathing is worth it, in time,

I’ll roll up my sleeves at the buttery sink,

And actually give myself some time to think.

-06.03.21

da299031-7aed-44b4-8024-260debdd38fa.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I love getting to know new people, so take a look around and please say hi! I'm an Aussie girl at heart that loves collecting natural objects, writing, reading, creating, singing, you name it! Come and get crafty with me! 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page